Due to limitations imposed by the pandemic, we ask that you place no more than 20 holds per card.

The black kids

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2020.
Language:
English
Description
A New York Times bestseller "Should be required reading in every classroom." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin "A true love letter to Los Angeles." --Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion "A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history." --Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday's Not Coming Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give , this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots. Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of senior year and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls. She's one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us ? And who is the them ?
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781534462724
9781534462748
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.3, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6692ab22-0d92-f824-9733-20ff2b4d3260
Grouping Titleblack kids
Grouping Authorchristina hammonds reed
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-27 22:48:23PM
Last Indexed2020-10-27 23:48:55PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value14
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.3
authorChristina Hammonds Reed
author_displayChristina Hammonds Reed
available_at_mlLevi E. Coe Library
detailed_location_mlMiddlefield/Coe YA Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionWith the Rodney King riots closing in on high school senior Ashley and her family, the privileged bubble she has enjoyed, protecting her from the difficult realities most black people face, begins to crumble.
format_category_mlBooks
eBook
format_mlBook
eBook
id6692ab22-0d92-f824-9733-20ff2b4d3260
isbn9781534462724
9781534462748
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b26507742.i64373836Norwich/Otis Young Adult New FictionY F HAMMONDS REED1falsefalseOn Shelfnwynf
ils:.b26507742.i64679561Old Saybrook/Acton YA FictionNEW YA HAMMONDS REED1falsefalseOn Shelfosyf
ils:.b26507742.i64701244Middlefield/Coe YA CollectionYA HIS Hammonds Reed1falsefalseOn Shelfmly
ils:.b26507742.i64753773Wallingford Young Adult FictionYA HAMMONDS REED1falsefalseIn Processwayf
ils:.b26507742.i64454708Orange/Case Teen Fiction BookNew T Fiction Hammonds Reed1falsefalseOn Shelforyf
ils:.b26507742.i64463953Guilford New YAYA HAMMONDS REED1falsefalseDue Oct 23, 2020gud
ils:.b26507742.i64735072Branford/Blackstone New YA Fiction, YA Fiction1falsefalseOn Shelfbrdf
ils:.b26507742.i6462416xNorth Haven Teen FictionTeen Fiction Hammonds-Reed, Christina1falsefalseDue Nov 9, 2020nhyf
ils:.b26507742.i64748315Haddam/Brainerd New Young Adult FictionYA FIC HAM1falsefalseIn Processhadf
ils:.b26507742.i64529253Madison/Scranton Teen Fiction - NewTF HAMMONDS1falsefalseIn Transitmadf
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b623Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b65Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b627Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b63Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b66Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b622Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b610Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b615Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b614Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b68Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b611Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b626Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b64Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b624Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b617Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b618Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b628Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b67Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b612Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b625Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_mlLEAP 28 Day Book
NEW
YA BOOK
last_indexed2020-10-28T05:48:55.669Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_mlOnline OverDrive
YA HIS Hammonds Reed
local_time_since_added_mlSix Months
Year
owning_library_mlLevi E. Coe Library
Levi E. Coe Library Online
owning_location_mlLevi E. Coe Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781534462724
publishDate2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b26507742BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishSimon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2020.362 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b6eBookeBookEnglishSimon & Schuster Books for Young Readers2020
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_ml
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b26507742.i64373836On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b26507742.i64679561On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i64701244On ShelfOn Shelftruetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b26507742.i64753773Coming SoonIn Processfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i64454708On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i64463953Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i64735072On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i6462416xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i64748315Coming SoonIn Processfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b26507742.i64529253Checked OutIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b6-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:40f9c805-f714-4367-a678-bd81948ce9b617Checked OutChecked Outtruefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAfrican Americans -- Fiction
Family life -- California -- Los Angeles -- Fiction
High schools -- Fiction
Los Angeles (Calif.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Race relations -- Fiction
Rodney King Riots, Los Angeles, Calif., 1992 -- Fiction
Schools -- Fiction
title_displayThe black kids
title_fullThe Black Kids
The black kids / Christina Hammonds Reed
title_shortThe black kids
topic_facetAfrican Americans
Family life
High schools
Historical Fiction
History
Race relations
Rodney King Riots, Los Angeles, Calif., 1992
Schools
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature